
















Public Safety Officers Tax Credit – Frequently Asked Questions 

What is the Public Safety Officers Tax Credit? 

The Public Safety Officers Tax Credit offers a credit against the Baltimore City real property tax imposed 

on the principal residences of sworn public safety officers serving full time in the Baltimore City Police 

Department, Baltimore City Fire Department, Baltimore City Sheriff’s Office, or the Baltimore City Public 

School System. 

What is the credit amount? 

The credit is the lesser amount of $2,500 and the Baltimore City real property tax imposed on the 

eligible real property for each taxable year that the property remains eligible.  

For example, if the eligible property is assessed for $100,000, the Baltimore City property tax imposed is 

$2,248. As the tax imposed is less than $2,500, the credit amount is $2,248, which is equal to the total 

city property tax liability.  

What is the credit term? 

The credit can be renewed every taxable year provided that the eligibility requirements continue to be 

met AND the credit recipient submits the Annual Eligibility Verification (AEV) form prior to April 1st of the 

calendar year in which the renewal is sought.  

How do I know if I’m eligible for this credit? 

In order to be eligible for this credit, the applicant must: 

1. Be a “Public safety officer” means a firefighter, an emergency medical technician, or a law 

enforcement officer who is a sworn member of and employed full time by: 

(i) the Baltimore City Fire Department; 

(ii) the Baltimore City Police Department; 

(iii) the Baltimore City Sheriff’s Office; or 

(iv) the Baltimore City Public School System. 

2. Own a dwelling located in Baltimore City and use said dwelling as his or her principal residence; 

and 

3. Be otherwise eligible in all respects for the tax credit authorized by the State Tax‐Property 

Article, Section 9‐105 (“Homestead Tax Credit”). 

How do I know if my property is eligible for the Homestead Tax Credit (#3 above)? 

Your property is eligible if: 

 The property was not transferred for value during the tax year prior to the tax year in which the 

credit is sought; and 

 The property was the owner’s principal residence and the owner lived in it for at least six 

months of the calendar year in which the credit is to be awarded, including July 1 of the year for 

which the credit is applicable. 



For more information about the Homestead Tax Credit, please visit 

http://dat.maryland.gov/realproperty/Pages/Maryland‐Homestead‐Tax‐Credit.aspx  

What is the Homestead Tax Credit? 

The Homestead Tax Credit is designed to help homeowners deal with large assessment increases on 

their principal residence. In Baltimore City, the credit is granted for any assessment increase exceeding 

4% from one year to the next. The credit is calculated based on the 10% limit for purposes of the State 

real property tax, and 4% for purposes of Baltimore City real property taxes. In other words, the 

homeowner pays no property tax on the market value increase which is above those limits. 

For more information about the Homestead Tax Credit, please visit 

http://dat.maryland.gov/realproperty/Pages/Maryland‐Homestead‐Tax‐Credit.aspx  

Do I need to apply for the Homestead Tax Credit in order to apply for the Public Safety Officers Tax 

Credit? 

No. To be eligible for the Public Safety Officers Tax Credit, the property must only be eligible for the 

Homestead Tax Credit. We strongly encourage you to apply for the Homestead Tax Credit because it is a 

relatively simple process that can prove very beneficial for homeowners over the period of time that 

they own their home. However, it is not a requirement of the Public Safety Officers Tax Credit.  

I’d like to apply for the Homestead Tax Credit. How do I apply? 

There are multiple ways to apply for the Homestead Tax Credit. For more information, please visit 

http://dat.maryland.gov/realproperty/Pages/Maryland‐Homestead‐Tax‐Credit.aspx 

I occupy my home as my principal residence. How do I confirm this prior to applying for the Public 

Safety Officers Tax Credit? 

If while creating your application in the Tax Credit System your Principal Residence status is an “N”, you 

do not qualify for this credit. However, if your Principal Residence status is an “N” and you believe this is 

an error because the property is your principal residence, please continue, complete and submit your 

application by April 1st. After you submit your application, please contact the Baltimore City office of the 

State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT) immediately and have your Principal Residence 

status updated. If this field does not reflect an “H” or “D” on the Tax Credit System by the following May 

15th you will not be eligible to receive this credit on your next Real Property Tax Bill. No applications will 

be accepted after April 1st. 

Principal residency is determined by the State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT). To look 

up the residency status of your property, please visit 

https://sdat.dat.maryland.gov/RealProperty/Pages/default.aspx  and enter your property information in 

the search tool. The principal residence indicator is displayed in the upper‐right section of the summary 

page. 

My home is not listed as my principal residence on the SDAT page. How do I update that information? 

Please contact SDAT’s Baltimore City office at 410‐767‐8250 and request an update to that indicator. 

Please email any other questions to tax.credits@baltimorecity.gov, or call us directly at (410) 396‐4585. 



I meet all the eligibility criteria for the Public Safety Officers Tax Credit. How do I apply? 

The application is available through the Baltimore City Tax Credit Application System: 

https://propertytaxcredits.baltimorecity.gov/PropertyTaxCredits/  

Once completed, the application can be submitted via the same online system.  There is no hard copy of 

the application.  

Step #1: Click “Register” on the Tax Credit System homepage to create a unique user login.  

Step #2: Enter your contact information in the appropriate fields. Your password must be at least 8 

characters and contain at least 1 number. Once complete, click “Create User” to register.  

Please note: the Department of Finance will update you via email on the status of your application. It is 

very important that the email associated with your account is current and one that you use regularly.  

Step #3: Once your account has been successfully created, click “Here” to proceed to the login page. 

Enter your newly created username and password in the login fields. Click “Log In”. 

Step #4: Click “Applications” on the left‐side menu. Click “Create Application” from the menu dropdown.  

Step #5: On the “Create a New Application” page, click the “Select Application Type” dropdown and 

select “PUBLIC SAFETY OFFICERS TAX CREDIT”. Select “Create a New Application” to start your 

application.  

Step #6: Create and submit your application via the Signature Tab. Once the application is submitted you 

will receive an email confirming the submission of the application, please keep a copy for your records. 

The application asks for the property transfer date. Where do I find this? 

The transfer date is the date of settlement/closing. You can find this on your Closing Disclosures form 

that you received at settlement/closing.  

The application asks for my Employee ID number. Where do I find this? 

The Employee ID number can be found on your paycheck. If you cannot locate this number on your 

paycheck, please contact your Agency’s Human Resources Coordinator.  

Is there a deadline to apply for this credit? 

Yes, applications must be submitted online by April 1st of the calendar year in which the credit is initially 

sought.  

Do I need to reapply every year? 

The credit does not automatically renew every year. The applicant must submit the Annual Eligibility 

Verification (AEV) form prior to April 1st each year. This must be done online using the same application 

system the applicant used to submit their initial application. Failure to submit the AEV by April 1st will 

result in a loss of the credit for that year. The applicant can reapply in the following year.  

My application was rejected. Can I reapply right away? 



No. If your application was rejected you cannot reapply in the same taxable year. If you later become 

eligible for this credit you may apply in subsequent taxable years.  

Can I combine this credit with other Baltimore City property tax credits? 

With the exception of the Targeted Homeowners Tax Credit and the Homestead Tax Credit, the Public 

Safety Officers Tax Credit cannot be combined with any property tax credit provided by the City of 

Baltimore.  

I have a different Baltimore City property tax credit on my property and I’d rather have the Public 

Safety Officer Tax Credit. What should I do? 

Please email the Department of Finance at tax.credits@baltimorecity.gov.  

The system is not accepting my Ward, Section, Block, Lot combination.  

Please enter a “0” at the end of your Section number. For example, if your Section number is “05”, enter 

“050”.  

Where do I find a copy of my latest property tax bill? 

You can search for your latest property tax bill at http://cityservices.baltimorecity.gov/realproperty/ .  

I cannot find my application or I am receiving an error saying that I can only submit one credit 

application. What should I do? 

You must use the account information you created to login into the tax credit system and then search 

for the application. If you do not remember your login information, please reset as shown below in 

image A, and then follow the steps in Image B. 

Image A 

 



Image B 

 

Please remember that applications for the Public Safety Officers Tax Credit must be submitted no later 

than April 1st. Once the application is submitted you will receive an email confirming the submission of 

the application, please keep a copy for your records. 

I have a question not listed here. Who can I contact? 

Please email any questions to tax.credits@baltimorecity.gov, or call us directly at (410) 396‐4585.  

 

Important note: 

Once the application is submitted you will receive an email confirming the submission of the application, 

please keep a copy for your records. 

No applications will be accepted after April 1st, so don’t wait! 

 


